Rivea Project

Manufacturing eco-friendly swim shorts from plastic debris recovered from the seas and oceans

A whole environnemental project

When you love the sea, what could be more natural than wanting to look after it? Our commitment to the environment and the preservation of the seas has become a reality, through our association with Spanish company Seaqual, whose mission is to use their network of 400 Mediterranean fishermen to collect plastic bottles lying discarded on beaches or floating in the sea and then recycle them by turning them into a polyester fibre. This virtuous business model means we can manufacture our swimwear in a way that corresponds with our values and our desire to be a vector of real change.

Reducing ocean pollution and creating new products: two for the price of one

The Seaqual initiative was prompted by the fact that, every year, an estimated 12 million tonnes of litter end up in the sea, which means that, if, by 2025, nothing has changed, for every three tonnes of fish in our seas and oceans there will be one tonne of plastic. Seaqual is also the result of a desire to support Barcelona’s fishing community, confronted with increasing quantities of rubbish invading their nets, a situation made worse by bad weather. In response, the Spanish company has undertaken an immense clean-up programme, collecting marine litter from the sea-bed, the surface of the water, beaches and estuaries. Once sorted and cleaned, the plastic waste is recycled in Seaqual Initiative approved facilities, before being transformed into textile fibres from which beautiful, new, sustainable products can be made.

Rivea + Seaqual = From the sea for the sea!

With some 600 tons of waste collected from the oceans and 99 tons of waste transformed into recycled marine plastic, Seaqual is having a concrete impact in the fight against plastic pollution. Step by step, this eco-friendly initiative, based on a more virtuous business model, has led to the creation of an innovative, 100% post-consumer textile.

Stages

Collection

Collecting the waste is a huge endeavour, and the company therefore calls on a network of 400 fishermen, who collect waste from the sea-bed. Seaqual is also assisted by a number of individual initiatives, as well as NGOs and businesses, who, each according to their means, help to clean beaches, seas and oceans.

Sorting

Once the litter has been collected, it is sorted, and any plastic is separated from the other waste then cleaned and cut into flakes.

Transformation

The flakes are then turned into recycled marine plastic granules before being melted into threads, which in turn are woven into a high quality textile fibre boasting the same qualities as traditional polyester.

How we make our swimwear

Based on our patterns, the Seaqual fabric is sublimation printed before being cut up, after which our swim shorts are manufactured with skill and expertise by our partners in northern Portugal.

Rivea supports Oceaneye

We don’t stop at making almost 100% eco-friendly swimwear. We also support projects that we hold dear. So for every item of swimwear sold, we donate 1 Swiss France to Oceaneye.

Oceaneye is a non-profit organisation founded in Geneva in 2010, with a twin objective: to fight plastic pollution, by informing the general public and raising their awareness of environmental issues, and to participate in scientific research, by collecting and analysing samples of water taken from the surface of the oceans. Through this dual, educational and scientific, approach, Oceaneye wants to encourage governments and businesses to do everything possible to reduce plastic pollution. Rivea supports Oceaneye’s activities by donating 1 Swiss France to the organisation for every item of swimwear sold.

Find out more about Oceaneye:www.oceaneye.ch

Rivea Project

Produire des maillots de bain éthiques et durables à partir de déchets collectés dans les mers et les océans

Un projet environnemental

Quoi de plus naturel quand on aime la mer que d’avoir envie d’en prendre soin ? Notre engagement en faveur de l’environnement et la préservation des fonds marins se concrétise grâce à notre association avec l’entreprise espagnole Seaqual. Leur credo ? Forte d’un réseau de 400 pêcheurs en Méditerranée, Seaqual collecte les bouteilles en plastique qui gisent sur les plages ou dans les fonds marins et les revalorise en les transformant en fibre de polyester. Un modèle économique vertueux qui nous permet de créer des maillots de bain en adéquation avec nos valeurs et notre volonté d’être acteur d’un vrai changement.

Créer et dépolluer les océans, un projet deux en un

Seaqual à vu le jour en partant d’un constat : on estime que 12 millions de tonnes de détritus finissent chaque année dans la mer et, si rien ne change d’ici 2025, on trouvera dans nos mers et océans une tonne de déchets plastique pour trois tonnes de poissons. La création de Seaqual est aussi née d’une volonté : celle de soutenir la communauté des pêcheurs barcelonais confrontés à l’invasion croissante de détritus dans leurs filets, plus encore en cas d’intempéries. Face à cette situation, l’entreprise espagnole a entrepris un vaste programme de nettoyage visant à collecter les déchets dans les fonds marins et en surface, sur les plages et dans les estuaires. Une fois triés et nettoyés, les déchets plastique sont ensuite recyclés dans des infrastructures approuvées par Seaqual Initiative avant d’être transformés en fibre textile permettant de confectionner de nouveaux produits, beaux et durables.

Rivea + Seaqual = From the sea for the sea !

Avec quelque 600 tonnes de déchets collectés dans nos océans et 99 tonnes de déchets transformés en plastique marin recyclé, Seaqual agit concrètement dans la lutte contre la pollution plastique. Une initiative éco-responsable qui s’appuie sur un modèle économique plus vertueux et se traduit, étape par étape, par la création innovante d’un textile 100% post-consommation.

Les étapes

La collecte

La collecte des déchets est une vaste entreprise. Pour avancer, l’entreprise fait appel à un réseau de 400 pêcheurs qui récupèrent les déchets dans les fonds marins. Seaqual s’appuie également sur des initiatives individuelles, des ONG et des entreprises qui contribuent, chacune à leur échelle, à nettoyer les plages, les mers et les océans.

Le tri

Une fois collectés, les détritus sont tout d’abord triés. Les plastiques sont séparés du reste des déchets avant d’être nettoyés et découpés en petits flocons.

La transformation

Les flocons sont ensuite transformés en granulés de plastique marin recyclé avant d’être fondus en fils. Ces derniers sont filés afin d’obtenir une fibre textile de grande qualité offrant les mêmes propriétés qu’un polyester classique.

La conception de nos maillots de bain

Sur la base de nos designs, le tissu Seaqual est imprimé par la technique de sublimation avant d’être découpé. Vient ensuite la confection de nos maillots de bain, réalisée au nord du Portugal grâce au savoir-faire de nos partenaires.

Rivea soutient oceaneye

Nous ne nous contentons pas de produire un maillot de bain 100% écoresponsable. Nous soutenons des projets qui nous tiennent à cœur. Pour chaque maillot de bain vendu, nous reversons 1 CHF à l’association Oceaneye.

Fondée en 2010 à Genève, Oceaneye est une association à but non lucratif engagée dans la lutte contre la pollution plastique. Ses objectifs ? Informer et sensibiliser le grand public aux enjeux environnementaux et contribuer à la recherche scientifique en menant des campagnes de collecte et d’analyse d’échantillons d’eau de surface des océans. A travers sa démarche à la fois didactique et scientifique, Oceaneye a l’ambition d’inciter les autorités publiques et les milieux économiques à mettre en œuvre les moyens d’action nécessaires pour limiter les dégâts de la pollution plastique. Pour soutenir ces actions, Rivea s’engage à reverser 1 CHF à l’association pour chaque maillot de bain vendu.

Plus d’infos sur Oceaneye : www.oceaneye.ch